The French National Research Agency Projects for science

Voir cette page en français

About ANRGovernanceScientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is the Agency’s body for reflection and debate on the preparation and implementation of its annual Work Programme. The Board assists the President of the Agency in the strategic guidance of the institution. The Board is  consulted on:

  • The preparation of ANR’s annual Work Programme and its implementation report,
  • The implementation of the evaluation of the research offering and impact assessments studies The creation or abolition of the Agency’s scientific departments, their name and  scope,
  • The appointment of the Scientific Department Heads and the renewal of their functions.

The Board may also be consulted by the Governing Board or the President of the Agency on matters falling within the competence of the institution.


In addition to Agency’s Scientific Department Heads, the Scientific Advisory Board includes external personalities, including the Chair of the Board, appointed by ANR’s President for a renewable two-year term.

Personalities external to the institution, foreign personalities in particular, selected for their scientific and technical competence in the Agency’s areas of activity

  • Sébastien CANDEL, Vice President of the French Academy of Sciences in 2015-2016, President of the French Academy of Sciences in 2017-2018
  • Alice Dautry, Member of the French Academy of Technologies, former President of the Pasteur Institute
  • Rick Rylance, Director of the Institute of English Studies of the University of London’s School of Advanced Study
  • Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Secretary General of the Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP), former President of the German Research Foundation (DFG) and former Secretary General of the European Research Council (ERC)

Personalities of the socioeconomic world chosen for their competence in the field of operation and constraints of the national research, development and innovation funding agencies:

  • Susan Fleet, former CEO of Britest Limited (Chair of the Board)
  • Ulrike Decoene Head of the AXA  Research Fund


The Scientific Advisory Board meets at least three times a year upon convocation by the President of the Agency or at the written, reasoned request of two-thirds of its members.

Its composition and the procedure for appointing its members and its rules of procedure are set out by the Ministerial Order of 10 September 2015.